1 Feb: All India Convention against Death Penalty

While the executions had been more or less on hold for the past two decades, since 2012- 2013 with two surreptitious and secretive executions and rejection of mercy petitions of 23 persons by the President, an abhorring trend was being set vis-a-vis capital punishment. The recent Supreme Court judgement upheld basic human rights for the death convicts, has expressed displeasure at the arbitrariness meted to them by the state, and commuted the death sentence of 15 convicts. Eight persons continue on active death row and over 450 condemned prisoners are lodged in different jails across the country. Also today, more than ever before in our country, the absurdity of the death penalty stands exposed. It is time for people and organisations from different walks of life to come together to put forward our objections to the punishment of death. Our campaign against death penalty is part of our commitment to right to equality, justice and respect for every human’s right to life.


The Coordination of Democratic Rights Organisations (CDRO) invites you to the All India Convention against Death Penalty on 1st February 2014 at Delhi. The day-long Convention will be held at the Auditorium of the Rajendra Bhawan, opposite Gandhi Peace Foundation, Delhi.


9:30 a.m.

Saturday, 1 February 2014

Rajendra Bhawan, Deen Dayal Upadhyaya Marg, Near ITO Crossing, New Delhi.



Justice Ajit Bains Ex. Judge, Punjab and Haryana High Court
Akhil Gogoi Krishak Mukti Sangram Samiti, Assam
Dr. Anup Surendernath Death Penalty Research Project, National Law University, Delhi.
Justice Bilal Nazki Ex. Chief Justice of Orissa High Court
Justice Hosbet Suresh former judge of the Bombay High Court
Prof. Jean Drèze Delhi School of Economics and  University of Allahabad
K Thiagarajan Gen Secretary, Tamil National Liberation Movement
Kirti Singh Women’s Rights activist and lawyer
Manoj Mitta Senior Journalist, Delhi
Navkiran Singh Lawyer and Campaigner against Death Penalty
Prof. Prabhat Patnaik Department of Economics, Jawaharlal Nehru University
Yug Mohit Chowdhary Anti Death Penalty Researcher and Activist, Lawyer, Mumbai
Zahid Ali Khan Editor, Siasat Daily, Andhra Pradesh


Constituent Organisations: Association for Democratic Rights (AFDR, Punjab); Association for Protection of Democratic Rights (APDR, West Bengal); Bandi Mukti Morcha (West Bengal); Civil Liberties Committee (CLC, Andhra Pradesh); Committee for Protection of Democratic Rights (CPDR, Mumbai); Coordination for Human Rights (COHR, Manipur); Human Rights Forum (HRF, Andhra Pradesh); Manab Adhikar Sangram Samiti (MASS), Assam; Naga Peoples Movement for Human Rights (NPMHR); Organisation for Protection of Democratic Rights (OPDR, Andhra Pradesh); Peoples’ Committee for Human Rights (PCHR, Jammu and Kashmir); Peoples Democratic Forum (PDF, Karnataka); Peoples Union For Civil Liberties (PUCL, Jharkhand); Peoples Union For Civil Liberties (PUCL, Nagpur); Peoples Union For Democratic Rights (PUDR, Delhi); Peoples Union for Civil Rights (PUCR, Haryana) and Campaign for Peace & Democracy in Manipur (CPDM), Delhi


Leave a Reply